Piaffe Girl

Dressage. Fashionably.

33 Things You May or May Not Want to Know . . .

5 Comments

Liebster Piaffe Girl got nominated twice yesterday for a Liebster Award, which makes me blush, but also means I’ve got to answer some random and not so random questions. Twenty-two of the questions were asked by my nominators, and eleven are random things that readers might like to know about me. Before I continue, many thanks to the wonderful Gallops & Garlands, and A Dressage Story for the nominations! You guys are fantastic.
So here goes . . .

Eleven Random Facts About Me:
1.  I’m green eyed and left handed, both of which are traits limited to about 10% of the population.
2.   I absolutely love Chicken Tikka Masala, Naan, and Mango Lassi. I would be in seventh-heaven if I could find an Indian restaurant in south Florida to rival the ones in Cincinnati and New York.
3. I  make a mean Margarita.
4. I hate bananas and most yellow foods.
5. I once blew a month’s paycheck on wool polo bandages from Hermes, and I’ve never regretted it.
6. I collect vintage cocktail shakers.
7. I still get giddy when I stand at the rail in Wellington and listen to my dressage heroes coach their riders.
8. I cried all the way through War Horse. So sue me… that horse looks JUST like Le Doux!
9. I also cried through the latest Super Bowl / Budweiser commercial.
10.  All of my horses but one have been orphans.
11.  I’ve always wanted to open a travelling tack shop but have been too scared.

 

Questions from Gallops and Garlands

  1. Describe your first pony: My first pony was a lovely little bay roan with stockings: a Welsh cross named Sock Hop (we called him Rowdy at home). He could do everything (!): drive, all dressage movements through Grand Prix, event, fox hunt, show hunters, and pony jumpers. This little guy was an absolute champ and was never out of the top three in the hunter ring. We took home many a championship together, but he wasn’t a schoolmaster by any means: if I sat incorrectly or loaded his shoulders on landing after a fence, he’d throw me quicker than a flash.
  2. Favourite equestrian magazine? The Chronicle of the Horse
  3. What are the items of tack you use daily? Just basics: Kieffer Esperanza dressage bridle (WB size) with a 5.5” Happy Mouth bit. Dressage saddle (either the Isasbel or the Custom) with a standard, square pad. Polo wraps.
  4. Do you leave your spurs on your boots? Never.
  5. Stretch the legs when girthing up? The Boy is a self-stretcher. He does a huge cat stretch before I saddle up.
  6. Tie or Stock? Stock
  7. What’s your favourite Olympic memory? Gem Twist in the 1988 games with Greg Best up. I loved that horse.
  8. What is your food choice on a horse show morning? Nothing. I absolutely cannot stomach anything at a show or before I ride. I keep it together by constantly drinking Gatorade.
  9. Shavings or straw? Pine shavings
  10. Favourite movement to ride? Canter zig-zag
  11. Best breeches brand? Schumacher

Questions from A Dressage Story

  1. How did you get into horse riding? I can’t really remember! I’ve loved horses for as long as I can remember, and my mother was a hunter rider, so I think she probably gave in to what I imagine was my incessant nagging and set me up in lessons.
  2. What discipline do you ride and why? Dressage. I love the attention to detail, the blending of art and science, and the deep bond I achieve with my horses.
  3. Do you have any equestrian idols (horses or riders)? Absolutely! I love, love, love Uta Graf, and also have a particular weakness for Hans Peter Minderhoud.
  4. What’s so great about horse riding? Just . . . everything.
  5. Describe your ideal horse. I’m lucky in that I actually have my ideal. I prefer a horse that’s a little on the hot side, athletic and quirky, and not too tall. Holsteiners are a plus (no Corde for me, though).
  6. Which discipline do you think is the most difficult and why? Eventing. I did a bit as a kid, and have had the good fortune to know some top eventers, and they really can do it all. The kind of mental and physical fitness they possess – it just blows me away.
  7. Do you have any favourite horse-related books you’d recommend (fiction or non-fiction)? Of course Karen McGoldrick’s The Dressage Chronicles, Enid Bagnold’s National Velvet, and Denny Emerson’s How Good Riders Get Good.
  8. How long have you been riding for? 30 years. Time flies!
  9. Do you have a horse? If so, describe them. If not, describe the horse you usually ride. Until recently I had four, but as of this week I’m down to one. He’s a newly five year old Holsteiner gelding (Lesanto x Montgomery) who has been under saddle for about a year now. He’s a quirky personality: very brave about things that bother most horses, but an absolute chicken about random issues (like trees). He’s a trickster, and enjoys taking a mouthful of water and dropping it on the nearest bystander. He also enjoys picking up brushes or bandages and handing them to me. And he’ll do absolutely anything for a peppermint!
  10. What’s your favourite brand of equestrian apparel? This is a difficult question for me, as I like so many things for different reasons. I’ve always loved Schumacher fullseat breeches: they tend to fit me quite well. I adore my Golden Dress and Eurofit riding vests (gillets), and am partial to my Dehner dressage boots.
  11. What is your strong point as a rider? I’m incredibly patient and non-reactive with young horses. Really, nothing they do fazes me – I just let whatever goofiness occurs happen, then keep going with my original plan.

My eleven chosen blogs:

My eleven questions for the nominees:
1.      What is your favorite non-horsey hobby?
2.      What discipline do you ride?
3.      Do you compete?
4.      If you have a horse, what is his / her name and is there any special meaning to the name?
5.      Do you come from a family of riders, or are you alone in your sport?
6.      What’s the strangest thing a non-horseperson has asked you about riding?
7.      If you could ride with any trainer in the world tomorrow, whom would you choose?
8.      Do you have any horse / riding-related superstitions?
9.      Tall boots or paddocks and half-chaps?
10.  What’s the best horse event you’ve ever attended (either as a spectator or a rider)?
11.  If your horse could talk, what’s the first thing he / she would tell you?

If you’ve been nominated for a Liebster:

HOW TO ACCEPT THE AWARD:

The Liebster Blog Award is a way to recognize blogs who have less than 200 followers.  Liebster is a German word that means beloved and valued.  Here are the rules for accepting the award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  4. Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  5. Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or less followers to nominate and include links to their blogs.
  6. Go to each bloggers page and let them know you have nominated them.

Happy Reading, and CU@X!

- Piaffe Girl

Author: piaffegirl

Dressage. Fashionably.

5 thoughts on “33 Things You May or May Not Want to Know . . .

  1. Congrats, Jen. So your little ones are all gone? Although I’m sure they’re not so little these days.

  2. I know you have already been nominated but….I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award! Go to my blog and find out how to accept! Happy Blogging!

  3. Thank you for the nomination!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers